More Trout

It’s amazing how trout will just “show up” one day (along with the fishermen). I fish a couple of times a week on the Mousam River here in Maine, nearly always from “Rogers Pond” which is a park in the village run on the river where a nice long run gives way to some flat water (the pond has nothing to do with the river – it’s a man-made square thing that I think is simply used for ice-skating in the winter). Anyway, most of the summer and well into the fall I was the only fisherman that I ever saw on that stretch of river. Admittedly I didn’t catch a trout until the end of September (see previous post), but there were chubs and alewives all summer so it was relatively active. As the water got cooler and cooler I started to wonder where the fish were. Then, last Thursday, I decided to go at my usual time and, lo and behold, the parking lot was packed and there were fishermen about every 20 yards or so (maybe 30 – I’m a poor judge of distance)! And, of course, there were trout everywhere! Tons, and tons of them, swimming every which way, in water that was completely empty of them not long ago. I have a sneaking suspicion many of them were anadromous (sea-run) since this is just below the last dam.

In any case, there is this one hole I fished alot this summer since it was almost always full of chubs (which, when you’re desperate to catch something – anything – will bite at rusty nails, pieces of felt, gum, you name it). This spot was, oddly, about the only spot not occupied by a fisherman last Thursday so I parked myself right there and caught two beautiful rainbows – one was 14″ and one almost 13″ (attempts at pictures were thwarted by their wriggling and they eventually jumped loose, taking my flies with them – I haven’t quite got the coordination for that yet). I returned on Saturday (once again finding “my” hole to be about the only unoccupied spot) and snagged a 12″ brookie (again no pic, but that’s because I needed a scale sample to send back to the state for analysis and didn’t want him tied up for too long). I had two others hooked, but couldn’t land them (plus I got a chub – damn, they’re funny fish; like the dogs of the fish world – will eat anything). This is essentially the same spot I caught that brown trout a few weeks back! So this hole (and a small plunge pool just above it) has yielded two rainbows, a brookie, and a brown, plus numerous chubs!

As an additional note, I was working the same couple of flies each times – a streamer and a copper jon. They also were biting at one of my parachutes before I lost it in a tree (lots of dense foliage along the shore which is true of almost any river in the northeast regardless of size).

I will say, though, that summer has definitey come to a close from the water’s standpoint. Despite the unseasonably warm temperatures we’ve been having, after four hours wading in the river on Saturday (in shorts and water shoes instead of waders), my feet were numb. I think it’s about time to start thinking about those waders…

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

