Photonic quantum computing

Check this out.  I have been bouncing the same idea around in my head recently wondering why no one had tried this and, apparently, someone actually has!  It just seems to be such a logical first step.  In fact at least five years ago I was chatting with my uncle who has been a microchip designer for 30+ years and he indicated they already incorporated some quantum optical effects in some chips.  It didn’t seem like that big a leap from there to photonic quantum computing.  Personally, I think there is a great deal of promise in this, but we’ll see.  One of the reasons I was bouncing it around in my head was that I was toying with having some of my students consider this very problem this semester, having been inspired by some examples and problems in Loepp & Wootters’ great book Protecting Information.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

