The infinite illusion

Here is a fascinating article at the NY Times.  I have to admit that I ripped this from my fellow blogger, The Observer Effect, but it’s just too interesting to pass up posting here.  As with most physicists, I have a healthy skepticism for the actuality of the idea, but a great deal of respect for the process of investigating it.  Scientists frequently analyze seemingly absurd problems since the methods may lead to solutions to more practical ones.  I liken it to the auto industry’s penchant for developing concept cars.  For instance, I’ve been working on an idea (which hasn’t seen the light of the arXiv yet because some folks are looking through my work) that builds on Bacon’s analysis of qubits on closed time-like curves (i.e. wormholes).  While not necessarily practical (or realizable), it offers an interesting theoretical laboratory by which we can study the causal nature of entangled qubits.

2 Responses to “The infinite illusion”

  1. quantummoxie Says:

    Ah yes, Scott’s Lecture 19. By the way, I completely rewrote that paper of mine on CTCs. I will send it to you shortly. It makes much more sense.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

