Turing Award winner

So the Turing award – computer science’s Nobel – has been awarded.  The Pontiff forgives old Alfred Nobel for not including CS in his awards since back then computers were people.  But what about the mathematicians?  I mean, the Fields Medal is a tremendous honor, but it’s not awarded every year, only dates back to 1924, and there’s an upper age limit of 40 so it’s not exactly a direct comparison.  Why, then, no Nobel Prize in mathematics?


Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: