Quantum pattern recognition, Lost, and other news

Chris Altman over at Coherence* has forwarded me two very interesting links.

 The first concerns the possibility that some combination of neural networking and quantum computing may provide a uniquely powerful pattern recognition program. Specifically, the process uses something known as adiabatic quantum computing that is then connected to a very simple neural network.

The second concerns my favorite TV show, Lost, that recently expanded on its time travel theme that I commented on in relation to temporal superposition states. Michio Kaku’s newest book mentions that the possibility isn’t ruled out entirely by physics. And he has a point. Currently a number of people (including Ken Wharton and myself, though I haven’t published my work yet) have been working on such things, though we cautiously note that it appears to be a microscopic phenomenon at the moment. However, one should note that in Lost no physical object appears to have time traveled yet – just states of consciousness. But much work needs yet to be done and, as Kaku pointed out, we’re nowhere near the technological capability of achieving anything like this.

Finally, I’m gearing up for the APS March Meeting in New Orleans. I leave on Sunday and give my talk mid-week. In the meantime I have various business meetings and things but will hopefully have short synopses of some of the sessions posted here each evening if I have the time.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

