More fun and games

Allan Goff over at Allan Goff’s Entanglements linked back to a note I put up about a year ago concerning the possibility of using the game Quantum Tic-Tac-Toe (which Allan created) in my quantum mechanics class.  I had promised a report, but never put one up.  In any case, I’m thinking of using it again in my quantum cryptography class this spring.  It didn’t work too well as a pedagogical tool for everyday QM (even though I discussed entanglement in depth), but I suspect, considering the success I’ve been having with some of the cryptographic “games” (see previous post), it might prove more useful in my QCrypto class.  Ironically, I’m right at the point at which I would introduce it, almost to the very day.  So we’ll see how it goes and see what we can get out of it.  The problem with it in the QM class last spring was that the notion of the circularity of the entanglement apparently wasn’t all that intuitive from the game itself according to the students.  It made sense once I explained a bit more about what was happening, but it wasn’t as useful as a teaching tool as I had hoped.  However, I think it could prove very useful in teaching aspects of quantum cryptographic protocols, particularly in comparing the classical to the quantum cases.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

