Should we keep the leap second?

Apparently the Time Service Department at the US Naval Observatory is taking a survey on whether to continue adding leap seconds periodically to Coordinated Universal Time.  I was going to laugh, but then realized that time – even mere seconds – can translate into serious money in this day and age.  So do your patriotic duty and take the survey!

4 Responses to “Should we keep the leap second?”

  1. quantummoxie Says:

    Cool! Thanks for that link Steve! As I said, at first I thought it was funny, but then I really did realize how important it really is (hey, I’m a quantum information theorist so I can appreciate the need for incredibly accurate measurements…)

  2. Man, you scooped me on this. I had meant to write up a blurb and it diffused out of the buffer.

    Mea saurus, mea saurus, mea maxima saurus

  3. quantummoxie Says:

    And you work there too. Huh. Well, at least I’ve got something to boast about to the handful of people who read this blog.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

