Cayley tables & a “new” math blog

OK, so it’s not new, per sé, it’s just new to me.  That would be the great – and very informative – blog Division by Zero.  I ended up there as I was making a review sheet for an exam I’m giving next week in my Modern Algebra class and stumbled on an interesting post regarding Cayley tables.  I find Cayley tables very interesting since they’re related to things like “magic squares.”  In class, I also liken them to Sudoku puzzles though the latter are a tad more complex.  But they both share the fact that an entry can only appear once per row and once per column.  I found this analogy worked pretty well with students familiar with Sudoku.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

