Random thoughts and links for 5/7/09

  • Say it ain’t so!  Manny Ramirez has been suspended for 50 games for taking a banned substance supposedly subscribed by his physician.  I’ve always liked Manny and, in particular, had always thought it was great that he had such success while never getting tied up in all the doping crap.  With that said, I think MLB and the NFL need to revisit their policies.  Drugs should be banned, but they need to find a way to not punish these guys for certain prescription medications.  Heck, my mother is prescribed steroids now and then for her asthma and allergies (prednizone, if I spelled it correctly).  I have no great love for people like Barry Bonds who so obviously doped.  But there has to be a way to differentiate.
  • Maine passed a gay marriage bill that was signed by the governor within minutes.  We become only the second state to legalize gay marriage via the legislative process.  It faces a ‘people’s veto’ this fall, but I’m hopeful that we won’t end up like California.  Maine is very much a ‘live and let live’ sort of state.  Long live pragmatic libertarianism.
  • I’m a huge fan of the TV show Lost.  Go ahead, laugh.  I don’t care.  I love it.  It’s brilliant.  And, I have blogged about the time-travel thing in the past.  But I think they’re actually exploring something I have examined in one of my papers!  Some of the castaways are on what amounts to a closed time-like curve while interacting with other folks who are on a normal, linear time.  I discuss aspects of this in the aforementioned paper.  As a way to visualize this I included the following diagram.  It serves as a way to eliminate some (though not all) of the associated paradoxes.  Keep in mind that relativity, which is founded on the notion of preserving causality, allows for these things.

durfig2

    Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

