FQXi awards – shameless self-promotion

OK, considering all that has gone wrong with my research in recent years, I figure I ought to have the right to brag at least once.  An essay I wrote was awarded a Third Prize by FQXi in the latest essay contest.  In the process, I managed to beat out Stephen Wolfram (yes, THAT Stephen Wolfram), among other well-known physicists, mathematicians, and philosophers.  The prize comes with a rather nice monetary award and membership in FQXi which includes a slew of quantum information people along with Nobel Laureates t’Hooft, Weinberg, and Wilczek.  I should add that I view this as a huge victory for small colleges like Saint Anselm, outreach organizations like ASNNE, and the Anacapa Society from which many of these ideas were spawned.

2 Responses to “FQXi awards – shameless self-promotion”

  1. I’m glad you made it through the review panel, and hope this will help to better articulate different physics fields together. Congratulations and continue on this path!

  2. quantummoxie Says:

    Thanks Arjen and I’m sorry yours didn’t win something. I certainly enjoyed it! I just hope its recognition through this award gets more people to pay attention to the problem itself. I’m at a conference right now where this very problem is rearing its ugly head. The physicists and computer scientists are talking over each others’ heads.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

