Teleporting energy

We have previously been able to teleport quantum states but now we can actually teleport energy.  Hmmm, I wonder what devilish things we can do with this…

6 Responses to “Teleporting energy”

  1. It seems unlikely that this is possible. Have you read the paper? I’ve only glanced over it, so I’m not really in a position to make an informed comment, but I am quite skeptical as it is something I had thought about in the past and had convinced myself it was impossible.

  2. quantummoxie Says:

    Hey Joe. Honestly, no I haven’t read more than the abstract. But now that you have brought this up I will have to read it through more thoroughly since I was about to put a blurb about it into the next issue of The Quantum Times.

  3. Well, as I say, I am far from certain one way or the other, but it seemed to me that since entanglement cannot be used to non-locally alter any expectation value, in order to increase the local energy this extra energy would have to be incorporated into any measurement dependent corrections, in which case you really haven’t transferred any energy.

  4. quantummoxie Says:

    Right. Now that you mention it, that does make sense. Perhaps the scheme alters the form of the energy in some non-trivial way. I still haven’t fully read it through yet (I have a pile of things I have to read and I’m not even close to being through it all).

  5. If this is working the people who knew this could have build a real stargate and i think thay have done this allready because of the 8.8earthquick that happend.

  6. quantummoxie Says:

    I’m not sure how the 8.8 earthquake in Chile is related to stargates and energy teleportation (and, in fact, I’m not sure how stargates are related to energy teleportation). The earthquake was a natural shift in tectonic plates.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

