‘Twas the night before New Year’s

‘Twas the night before New Year’s
And all through the house
Football and physics were on tap
In the spirit of Gauss…, er…

Writing a student rec
For Notre Dame
While watching the Irish
Winning the game

And planning for 2011 –
I got a nice grant! –
Bergen and Copenhagen,
maybe Sweden? I can’t.

Or maybe I can
While also expanding
My nanotech startup,
Teaching notwithstanding.

There’s a lot on tap
This year for me.
Better than 2010
I hope it will be.

So good wishes for New Year’s
I send to you
For a wonderful 2011
Through and through!

2 Responses to “‘Twas the night before New Year’s”

  1. Ian, this is clever. I think Gauss is a great genius, the public doesn’t know of him as much as science/math wonks. So tell us about your grant, sounds good. BTW visit my blog sometimes, I plan more QM stuff shortly.

  2. quantummoxie Says:

    Thanks Neil. There’s a lot the public doesn’t know about so Gauss isn’t alone. Sorry, I’m just being cynical.

    Anyway, I got an FQXi mini-grant (which actually isn’t so “mini” – mine was the third largest awarded this round). I’m using it to tie together some loose ends from a series of papers I produced between 2006 and 2009, all of which were summarily ignored or so heatedly debated reviewers couldn’t agree on its worth. Oh well, c’est la vie.

Comment (obtuse, impolite, or otherwise "troll"-like comments may be deleted)

